19/1 Talkshow and mame-maki

2011-01-19 @ 15:13:03
So... another day soon to its end... I can't believe the time is passing by this fast!! Did I tell you about the interview last Friday by the way? Can't remember if I did, and I'm too lazy to scroll down and check haha.. We (aka the Swedish people at the school; me and the three girls I'm living with plus another guy) found out last Wednesday that a TV crew would meet up with us after school coming Friday, and interview us about, err... "Glimmis" wchich will say reflexes... Explained to them that "Glimmis" was only the name of a company, and they seemed quite surprised :)
Anyway, the whole thing went -kind of- fine. I messed up at a few places getting myself into too difficult sentences, but I guess it could have been a lot lot worse after all. But later I found out that the interview was actually for some fancy (or whatever) talkshow, and not for the crappy local news that I though.. A bit strange, but since I don't own a TV -and don't even know the name of said talkshow- I guess I'll never find out just how much of fools we made ourselves ou there. I should probably be glad for that?
As for the reason for the whole interview is that these "glimmis" reflexes has gotten quite popular here in Japan as a cute decoration to have on your bag, mobile, or wherever you may seem fit. So the ones available here are all in cute shapes and colours of course. Tried to explain to them that we use them first and mostly for traffic safetey, but I'm not sure they actually believed me... >_<

Today was nothing exciting, school as usual, with the change of me sniffing and sneezing in the background. Think the cold has gotten to me after all :(  Did some groceryshopping, and went home to make some dinner. Fish, for the first time since I came here, if sushi doesn't count that is ;) Should have gone to 7eleven to bay the bills today, but we forgot the bill itself so that will have to wait until tomorrow. It's very handy paying bills here though, it's just to walk down to closest convinient store and hand in the bill along with the money, you get a stamp, and then it's done. Maybe it had been handier via internet, but since my account is swedish -and I'm not sure my japanese account even has an internet connection- it wouldn't work anyway.

This Friday will be interesting I think. I will participate in something called "mame-maki", which is some kind of new years tradition. I thought it was a small thing from the beginning, but after the info meeting this Sunday I got to understand that it was slightly different.. It's a friggin HUGE event!! We will do this for two days, and basically tour the town around. Visit the mayor and all the big shopping malls and God knows where, and on the 3rd we will finish it all off outside a big really pretty buddhist tempel, also where the meeting was held. Really really beautful place, situated in the middle of it all close to the Hakata station.
I'm still not totally sure exactly what we're supposed to do, but the main core is to get the evil spirits out, and bring the good ones in for the new year. We will all dress up as a god, and play its part. Seems really funny!! Of some odd reason they want only foreigners to do this, hmm...

Ok, I'll leave it at this, until next! Cheers


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback