I made it! :D

2010-10-14 @ 12:54:05

Hello again!

So, I finally made it to Fukuoka, Japan!! Everything went fine, the ten hours from Copenhagen to Tokyo was the slowest ten hours I had for quite a while… didn’t manage to sleep at all. But finally, finally, we made it to Tokyo!! And… err… it wasn’t quite what I imagined it to be… In my mind we would arrive to an extremely busy airport with lots and lots of people crammed everywhere. What I didn’t imagine was that the airport would be totally empty aside for us…  but the service was good anyway, kind of strange to walk down all the empty hallways, but the staff gladly showed us the way. And they all assumed we could talk Japanese as well… It was just to smile and nod, and hope that we got the most important parts!

After  going trough customs, security control (oh my god, I had to take of my boots off, poor security guy) we made it to a boring little room to wait for our next flight. So the first thing I did was to go to the toilet and CHANGE MY CLOTHES!! Remind me again to never be so stupid as to wear thick clothes going here again. And hahaha, the signs for the women’s toilet is all pink and the men’s blue, didn’t know what to say about that..

Anyhow, now in shorts, top and sandals I boarded my flight (and it’s by the way the smallest little thing I ever been on, the closest thing to a private jet!) and went off to my final destination! I must say, that little thing was a good adrenaline ride, since they had much shorter take off areas here at the airports than I’m used to, which means that it reeeally was one heck of a takeoff and landing. But we got picked up by two of our teachers and that was… well… just as awkward as I feared it to be.. they talked in Japanese, we answered in English. I really have to get over this and actually open my mouth in Japanese! But so far, no good. But they we’re nice and helpful, and later they took us for some grocery shopping and to a chakkuen shop. Like a euro shop or one/dollar shop.  Got the most important stuff, but  we will have to go for some more stuff tomorrow I think. But damn hell, it’s right now freaking embarrassing just to go pay for your things in the shop! The cashier bows and smiles, and I have no idea if I should bow back, how and if I should say thanks and all that jazz. But all that will be fine in time, I just have to get out of my little comfort zone and get over it.

And the place I stay in is actually better than I had dared to hope! I mean, it’s no luxury hotel (worn out furniture, a kitchen not even worth the name and curtains that DEFENITELY have seen better days. And we have nasty little bugs) but it’s quite spacey -for being in Japan- and I thought I would have to share toilet, shower and kitchen with all the other students. Turns out I only have to share it with Emma, the girl I went here with, so that was a very nice surprise! And we have a big balcony and biiig shower (of some strange reason considering the lack of space. But I’m not complaining!).

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback